Yorktown, Mohegan Fire District Elections Are Tuesday

  • Comment
Residents in the Lake Mohegan Fire District can vote Tuesday between 6 and 9 p.m. at the Jefferson Valley station on Lee Boulevard. Photo Credit: Brian Marschhauser

YORKTOWN, N.Y. – Under-the-radar but important elections take place Tuesday night, as the budgets and boards of commissioners for Yorktown's two fire districts are put to a vote.

The Lake Mohegan Fire District – which also covers part of Cortlandt – and the Yorktown Fire District will each elect one fire commissioner to a five-year term that starts Jan. 1.

Both districts' boards of commissioners consist of five members who are each elected to five-year terms, with one of the five slots opening every year.

In Yorktown, past Fire Chief Martin McGannon is unopposed for the open seat. McGannon fell short in his election bid last December by seven votes.

In the Lake Mohegan Fire District, the expiring term is held by Jim Seymour. Seymour is opposed for re-election by Billy Grexa.

Polls in both districts will be open from 6 to 9 p.m. Tuesday. Residents in the Lake Mohegan district can vote at the Jefferson Valley Fire Station, 500 Lee Blvd. Residents in Yorktown's district can vote at the firehouse at 1916 Commerce St.

Voters who registered with the Westchester County Board of Election before Nov. 19 are eligible to vote.

  • Comment


In Other News


Assemblyman Buchwald To Host Small Business Forum On Tuesday


Metro-North Railroad Names Three To Top Operating Posts